Can I get my money back?

Discuss anything and everything relating to Bobcat Basketball here.

Moderators: rtb, kmax, SonomaCat

mslacat
Golden Bobcat

Can I get my money back?

Post by mslacat » Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:24 pm

******* I temporarily interrupt my sabbatical *******

I have been attending MSU basketball games since 1980. I have seen 100’s of men’s games and 100’s of women’s games, and in all that time I never ever walked out on a Montana State basketball game. That was until last night. I have driven my ex-wife, kids, and even friends crazy for insisting that win or lose, close games or blow outs staying until the very end. After catching myself 3 times almost dropping f-bombs and being most frustrated with the player than I have ever been upset at refs mid way through the second half I had to leave. Plain and simple I did not need to make any more of an ass of myself, and the people around me did not need to listen to me. It so reminded me of when my Dad – the screen play writer- would walk out of a movie leaving the rest of the family in the theater.

I have had the pleasure of knowing and talking to a lot of Big Sky coaches, and there is one common piece of wisdom that they all have told me. Come deep into conference season the impact a coach can have on a team is lessened and lessened and talent becomes THE major determining factor in the out come late season games. Well after watching last nights game I have found a big flaw in that ultimate theory.

Mslacat’s new addendum common basketball theorem is that:

“A team has to want to win” - Is the biggest determining factor in the out come of a game.